Women of Courage, Character, and Commitment

March 2024

Women of Courage, Character, and Commitment

Presented by the Gender and Sexuality Center, this award annually recognizes women from our campus and Lincoln communities who have made positive impacts though professional, personal, mentoring, or peer relationships. Honorees receive a free ticket to a special celebration event at which they will be recognized and presented with the award.

Award Honorees 2023


  • Jessica Dunn  |  sophomore, Film Studies & Women’s and Gender Studies, CAS
  • Angela Huebert  |  graduate student, Audiology and Hearing Science Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology, Grad Studies
  • Madison Hurst  |  senior, Political Science, CAS
  • Lisa Mueller  |  junior, Pre-Veterinary Medicine & Veterinary Science, CASNR
  • Kalyssa Williams  |  junior, Landscape Architecture, CoArch


  • Cindy Agee  |  manager student family housing, University Housing, Student Affairs
  • Lydia Coulson  |  alcohol & drug prevention project manager, Big Red Resilience & Well-being, Student Affairs
  • Nancy Finken  |  chief content officer, Nebraska Public Media
  • EmyRosa Kata  |  program coordinator for peer mentor and student experience, Office of Academic Success and Intercultural Services (OASIS)
  • Emily Griffin Overocker  |  student success coordinator, HLCFPA
  • Abigail Groth  |  assistant director of learning communities/academics, University Housing, Student Affairs
  • Carrie Jackson  |  assistant director of reservations/events, Nebraska Unions, Student Affairs
  • Mollie Rappl  |  assistant director of student services, University Housing Residence Life, Student Affairs
  • Reshell Ray  |  associate director for programs & events, Student Leadership, Involvement, & Community Engagement, Student Affairs
  • Lori Romano  |  director, center for academic success & transition, Center for Academic Success and Transition
  • Brenda Sale  |  extension associate, NFP
  • Melissa Wilkerson  |  director, Center of Advocacy, Response & Education (CARE), Student Affairs


  • Dr. Dena Abbott | |  assistant professor, Educational Psychology, CEHS
  • Diane Barger  |  professor, Gleen Korff School of Music, HLCFPA
  • Cassidy Emmerich  |  lecturer, Communication Studies, CAS
  • Dr. Crystal Garcia  |  assistant professor, Educational Administration, CEHS
  • Dr. Rumiko Handa  |  professor, Architecture, CoArch
  • Dr. Melissa Homestead  |  professor, English, CAS
  • Dr. Heather Hruskoci  |  assistant professor of practice, Educational Psychology, CEHS
  • Dr. Trish Wonch Hill  |  research associate professor, Center for Science, Mathematics & Computer Education, CAS
  • Dr. Laura K. Muñoz  |  assistant professor, Ethnic Studies and History, CAS